USL Academy League Confirms Founding South-Central Division Members

USL Academy League Confirms Founding South-Central Division Members

Five clubs to compete in South-Central Division in 2021

TAMPA, Fla. – The United Soccer League (USL) confirmed on Thursday the founding members
of the USL Academy League’s South-Central Division. The inaugural season of Academy
League play is due to kick off in spring 2021, and will provide clubs in all three of the USL’s
senior divisions with an elite youth development and competition platform.

The structure of the USL Academy League provides USL clubs a progressive model to develop
local players for their Senior Team, at a lessened cost of traditional pre-professional academies.
Doing so will also enable far more clubs and communities to participate, allowing for the
regional division format which limits travel demand to teams and families.

The five clubs set to compete in the South-Central Division of the inaugural USL Academy
League are as follows:

* AHFC Royals: Houston, TX (USL League Two)
* Austin Bold FC: Austin, TX (USL Championship)
* Houston FC: Houston, TX (USL League Two)
* RGV FC Toros: Edinburg, TX (USL Championship)
* Texas United: Dallas, TX (USL League Two)

Regional alignment announcements conclude on Thursday with the unveiling of the Southwest
Division at 2 pm ET. For more information on the USL Academy League, visit